Claudio Puglia, Chef and owner of the restaurant La Romantica in Clichy since 15 years, is recognized by the French gastronomic press as one of the best Chefs and restaurateurs of the capital and he also received honors from the French and international general press.

Decorated with Order of Merit for Labour (Cavaliere del Lavoro) by the Italian President O. L. Scalfaro and Prime Minister Prodi, he already attained tremendous popularity by the age of 35.

Arriving in France twenty years ago with a rather important culinary repertoire, he first worked for chains of Italian restaurants, and created the Little Romantica in Levallois-Perret with his wife and two years later, moved into Clichy in the magical place of the current La Romantica, in the same city where previously Bernard Loiseau and Guy Savoy had set up their brands. In 1990, Claudio bought this business without customers, a small pearl in the desert of this Paris suburb with fireplace and veranda overlooking a garden completely isolated. The restaurant goes unnoticed because you have to cross a building corridor to get into the garden.

Claudio does not give up and La Romantica was born. With a strong culinary experience of its first Romantica, he knows that it is a turning point in his life and that he must unleash all its passions and emotions. The Products? He knows them by heart because he comes from the land. Imagination? The level is up. It only remains to refine the technique at work.

New Italy is here, resplendent, free of complex to surprise and seduce. We must wipe false beliefs out about Italian cuisine because since the 30s, the French associated Italy with pizza, Chianti and escalope. Claudio is innovative: it has deliberately chosen the current Italy using little-known products for a return to the earthy flavours. Updating the old recipes, he steps up for innovation. He definitely eliminates the butter using his olive cultivation, olive oil emulsion and true cooking values…

Ambitious, perfectionist, demanding, not always easy to live and impulsive, as described by his relatives, this Chef, is not without faults, but he remains a man of his word and friendship, very attached to his family and his two children. Customers followed him ever since with enthusiasm and loyalty.

claudio-puglia

Claudio Puglia, chef de cuisine et propriétaire du restaurant La Romantica à Clichy depuis 15 ans, reconnu par la presse gastronomique française comme étant l’un des meilleurs cuisiniers et restaurateurs de la capitale, a aussi reçu les honneurs de la presse généraliste française et internationale.

Décoré de la Légion d’Honneur (Cavaliere del Lavoro) du Mérite par le Président italien O. L. Scalfaro et le Premier Ministre R. Prodi, il avait déjà atteint, à 35 ans, une énorme popularité.

Arrivé en France il y a vingt ans avec un répertoire culinaire assez important, il a d’abord travaillé pour des chaînes de restauration italienne, puis créé la Petite Romantica à Levallois-Perret avec son épouse, pour finalement, deux ans après, s’installer à Clichy à l’endroit féerique de La Romantica actuelle, dans la ville même où, auparavant, Bernard Loiseau et Guy Savoy avaient installé leurs enseignes. Claudio rachète en 1990 cette affaire, sans clients, une petite perle dans le désert de cette banlieue parisienne, avec coin cheminée et véranda qui donne sur un jardin totalement isolé. Son restaurant passe totalement inaperçu car il faut traverser un couloir d’immeuble pour arriver dans le jardin.

Claudio ne se décourage pas… La Romantica est née. Fort de l’expérience culinaire de sa première Romantica, il sait qu’il est au tournant de sa vie et qu’il doit laisser exploser toutes ses passions et ses émotions. Les produits? Il les connaît sur le pouce car il vient de la terre. L’imagination ? Il en a à revendre. Il ne reste plus qu’à affiner la technique dans le travail.

L’Italie Nouvelle est là, resplendissante, sans complexe, pour étonner et séduire. Il faut effacer d’urgence les fausses croyances sur la cuisine italienne car, depuis les années 30, les français associent l’Italie à la pizza, au Chianti et à l’escalope. Claudio est innovateur : il a opté délibérément pour l’Italie actuelle tout en utilisant des produits méconnus, pour un retour aux saveurs du terroir. Réactualisant les anciennes recettes, il monte au créneau de la nouveauté. Il élimine définitivement le beurre en se servant de sa culture oléicole et en passant aux émulsions d’huile d’olive et aux vraies valeurs de la cuisine.

Ambitieux, perfectionniste, exigeant, pas toujours facile à vivre et impulsif, comme le décrivent ses proches, ce chef-là, n’est pas sans défauts, mais il reste un homme de parole et d’amitié, très attaché à sa famille et à ses deux enfants. Les clients, depuis, le suivent avec enthousiasme et fidélité.